30 Apr 2010 – Pre-Game 6 Lakers @ Thunder Thoughts

Some pre-Game 6 scribbles:

  • I hope the Lakers close out the dangerous Oklahoma City Thunder tonight.  
  • A lot of pundits on the radio have been casting this first round playoff series in the same light as last year’s Western Conference semifinals between the Lakers and the Houston Rockets.  
  • I don’t agree with the comparison, simply because Houston last year was like a wounded animal lashing out in a bid for survival (it had neither Yao Ming nor Tracy McGrady available for most of the series); OKC is fully healthy, young, more athletic and quicker than the Lakers, and look to be better-coached than the Rockets were last year.
  • More than a few experts have declared that, if the Lakers do advance into the second round and beyond, they should have an easier time against whichever teams they play than they are having against the Thunder.  So… is this a high compliment for the Thunder or a savage indictment of the rest of the Western Conference?

Will the Lakers win tonight?  I sure hope so.  If nothing else, it will prevent a pivotal Game 7 on Sunday, which is also my birthday.  So why is this a big deal?  Well, for most of my life, whenever there is a sports event on my birthday, the team or player(s) I support will lose more often than not.  

I’m not kidding.

Even in sports events I played in on my birthday (for three summers in the Philippines, I played summer league basketball), my team ALWAYS LOST ON MY BIRTHDAY.  It’s a freaky kind of jinx which persists to the present day.  In all honesty, I feel a certain kind of terror when I find out the Lakers (or, if there’s a car race on my birthday, my favorite team or driver) are competing on my birthday because they almost inevitably lose.  

If the Lakers lose tonight and play Game 7 on Sunday (my birthday), I’m so afraid they’ll lose.  

Not because the Thunder are playing better or are the better team, but because they’re playing on my birthday.  Absurdly, if they DO lose Game 7 on my birthday, I’m going to feel so responsible…

(I’m praying like crazy the Lakers win tonight!)

3 thoughts on “30 Apr 2010 – Pre-Game 6 Lakers @ Thunder Thoughts

  1. I got this site from my friend who shared with me about this
    web page and now this time I am browsing this web page and reading very informative posts
    at this place.

  2. You’re so cool! I don’t suppose I have read through a single thing like that before.
    So good to find someone with original thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the web, someone
    with a bit of originality!

Leave a comment